ICC Charges Eight Players and Officials for Corruption

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has charged eight players and officials for violating various provisions of the Emirates Cricket Board’s (ECB) Anti-Corruption Code, at the 2021 Abu Dhabi T10 Cricket League.

These charges were issued by the Council on behalf of the ECB since the ICC was appointed by the Board as the Designated Anti-Corruption Official (DACO) for the purposes of the ECB’s Code for the said tournament. The violations committed include placing bets on various aspects of the matches, failing to cooperate with the investigation under the Code, offering rewards to a fellow participant in exchange for engaging in corrupt conduct, etc.

The players and officials charged under the Code include co-owners of Pune Devils, Krishan Kumar Choudhary and Parag Sanghvi, batting coach, Ashar Zaidi, domestic players, Rizwan Javed and Saliya Saman, assistant coach, Sunny Dhillon, Bangladesh player, Nasir Hossain, and team manager, Shadab Ahamed.