Formula E Announces Cancellation of Hyderabad E-Prix

In a press release dated January 5, 2024, Formula E announced the cancellation of the Hyderabad E-Prix that was earlier scheduled to be held on February 10.

This decision has been attributed to the “decision by the Municipal Administration and Urban Development Department (MAUD), under the control of the Government of Telangana, not to fulfil the Host City Agreement signed on 30 October 2023“.

The press release highlights that Formula E Operations (FEO) had no other choice but to give a notice to the MAUD department regarding the breach of contract. It is stated that the FEO is weighing its options to take recourse under the law.

A day after Formula E came out with its statement, the Government of Telangana issued a memo through which responses were sought from the Senior IAS Officer and former Special Chief Secretary of the MAUD department, Arvind Kumar, for entering into an agreement for conducting the Formula E event. The memo refers to the failure to obtain approval from the Government for executing the agreement with the FEO and another entity and to the release of Rs. 55 Crore even before the execution of the agreement.

It is alleged that the Government was not informed by the said official when the tripartite agreement was terminated by FEO, placing an additional burden on the Government to conduct and host the event. Further, it was pointed out that when the revised agreement was executed (i.e., on October 30, 2023), the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) announced by the Election Commission of India (ECI) was in force in the state of Telangana.

The 2023-24 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship commenced on January 13 and is set to conclude on July 21. The tenth season of the Championship is being hosted in Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Brazil, Japan, Italy, Monaco, Germany, China, the United States, and the United Kingdom.[1]