RP Singh Appointed Chairman of Hockey India’s Selection Committee

RP Singh, former hockey player and Uttar Pradesh Sports Director, has replaced Harbinder Singh as the chairman of Hockey India’s (HI) selection committee. The appointment was made on April 11, 2023, effective April 15, 2023. Apart from Mr Singh, the Committee comprises Balwinder Singh, Mohd Riaz, MM Somaya, Subhadra Pradhan, Sardar Singh, BP Govinda, Chinglensana Singh Kanjugam, Rajnish Mishra, VR Raghunath, Sameer Dad, Yuvraj Walmiki, Joydeep Kaur and Asunta Lakra. The selection committee comprises chief coaches, scientific advisors and high-performance directors of the national men’s and women’s teams.

The HI Executive Board assessed the appointments of the HI committees’ members in its 98th meeting held on March 27, 2023.

In 1998, Singh was a member of the junior selection committee and was subsequently designated as the chairman of HI’s high performance and development committee in 2021. He became a member of the senior selection panel later that year.