AFC Extraordinary Congress 2023: AIFF Disciplinary Committee Chairperson Vaibhav Gaggar Elected as Appeal Committee Member

At the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Extraordinary Congress 2023, the Chairperson of the All India Football Federation (AIFF) Disciplinary Committee, Vaibhav Gaggar was elected as a Member of the AFC Appeal Committee. The meeting was presided over by the Confederation’s President, Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa.

The AFC Member Associations, at this meeting, elected the Chairpersons, Deputy Chairpersons and Members of the Confederation’s judicial bodies, i.e., the AFC Disciplinary and Ethics Committee, the AFC Appeal Committee, and the AFC Entry Control Body.

Salman A. Al-Ansari from Qatar and Nguyen Thi My Dung from Vietnam have been elected as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the AFC Appeal Committee, respectively. Apart from Mr Gaggar, Dong-Ho Lim (Korea), Ali Mohamad Mhaydle (Lebanon), and Abdul Salim Ahmed Ibrahim (Singapore) have been selected as Members of the Appeal Committee.

The representatives from the AFC Member Associations also voted on and approved the audited financial statements, auditors’ report for 2022 and the budget for the financial years 2023 and 2024.

On being elected, Mr Gaggar expressed that it was a proud moment for him, the AIFF and the country. He added, “it goes to show that Indian Football is being recognised at a global and continental level. Recently, Dr. Prabhakaran was also elected to the AFC Executive Committee, and this coming in close proximity shows that we as a nation are being recognised”.